bards tale trilogy

Think of yourself as a classic RPG fan? Today is your lucky day as The Bard’s Tale Trilogy drops onto Xbox One and PC with Xbox Play Anywhere.

Yep, it’s time to rejoice as inXile Entertainment – now run as part of Microsoft Game Studios – and Krome Studios release The Bard’s Tale Trilogy on to Xbox One.

As you may expect to hear, The Bard’s Tale Trilogy contains all three of the original games that fans love, with Tales of the Unknown, The Destiny Knight, and Thief of Fate all in place. But this is 2019 and you can also expect to see each of these fully remastered with updated visuals and audio front and centre of the action. For those unaware, The Bard’s Tale series pioneered the ability to transfer your characters from the first game to the next, and that’s also been recreated in this remastered Trilogy, allowing RPGers to form a party in the first title and take them on a heroic journey across all three games.

Quality of life options have also been included, and this sees such delights as automapping (put away that graph paper!), an in-game manual and bestiary, and the ability to save the game at any time, allowing modern day gamers the chance to enjoy each title just as much as when they were first created all those years ago. What’s more, all three games now also feature a Legacy Mode, a series of options that let fans experience the game at the original difficulty and without modern amenities… should you so wish.

“It’s pretty special to be able to bring back the classic Bard’s Tale games and original Wasteland, which helped to inspire the Fallout series. This was an opportunity that came about thanks to our new partnership with Microsoft, and it’ll be wonderful nostalgia for the people who grew up with these games, and a peek into the history of the early RPG genre for a brand new audience,” said Brian Fargo, founder, inXile entertainment.

Features include:

  • – All three games (Tales of the Unknown, The Destiny Knight, Thief of Fate) are included in the package.
  • – Remastered graphics for HD resolutions makes a classic series look better than it ever has before.
  • – Quality of life features such as automapping and saving anywhere make the game accessible right away.
  • – Legacy Mode introduces a suite of options that allow you to create the same challenging 1980’s gameplay experience.
  • – Optimized gameplay created from existing source code, in some cases fixing bugs over thirty years old!
  • – Create your party in the first game and import it across all three games for one epic narrative.
  • – In-game manual and bestiary bring all of the trilogy’s systems and lore to your fingertips.
  • – For the first time, play as male or female in all three games.
  • – Now featuring Xbox Controller support.
  • – Featuring crossplay between Windows and Xbox.

Tempted by what this triple pack of The Bard’s Tale goodness can bring? You’ll want to mosey on over to the Xbox Store and grab a download right now. You’ll find it priced up at £11.24, or at £8.99 should you have Game Pass. Alternative, you can download it free of charge should you have an Xbox Game Pass subscription in place.

And no matter whether you are finding time to kick back with The Bard’s Tale for the very first time, or are a veteran looking for a another hit, you’ll want to enjoy this Trilogy right now, just before The Bard’s Tale IV: Director’s Cut releasing come August 27th 2019.

Game Description:

Experience the events that led to The Bard’s Tale IV: Barrows Deep and The Mage’s Tale! The Bard’s Tale Trilogy is a remastering of the classic 1980s series, one of the godfathers of the RPG genre. Create an adventuring party in the first volume and play it across all three, creating a heroic story all your own! The Bard’s Tale Trilogy contains remastered versions of all three classic games: The Bard’s Tale: Tales of the Unknown, The Bard’s Tale II: The Destiny Knight, and The Bard’s Tale III: Thief of Fate! Rescue a city trapped by a wizard, reforge the legendary Destiny Wand, and travel across time and space to confront a Mad God! Enjoy a uniform playing experience across all three titles without the need for emulation or compatibility concerns. For the first time, play as male or female across all three games! Also includes other quality of life changes such as automapping for all three games, spell access, and updated equipment/inventory management. Go old school with Legacy Mode, a suite of features which allows veteran players to experience the games similarly to how they first played them “back in the day”. The Bard’s Tale Trilogy is a chance for old fans to be young once again and for a new generation of roleplaying and dungeon crawler fans to discover why these games matter so much all these years later. Pick up the game and start your epic adventure today!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

× 9 = seventy two

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.