ghosts banner

Get yourselves ready because the first of four rather massive DLC packs for Call of Duty Ghosts is on its way and will be exclusive to Xbox.

‘Onslaught’ will hit both the Xbox One and Xbox 360 on 28th January, bringing with it four unique multiplayer maps, varied gameplay and an all-new Maverick dual-purpose Assault/Sniper rifle. But the real big news is that Onslaught will also feature Episode 1: Nightfall, the first instalment to Extinction modes four-part episodic narrative., Delving deeper into the storyline and features new characters, a new weapon and new alien species including a three-story tall alien enemy.

Included as part of the Ghosts Season Pass for free (or of course available as a standalone download), the four maps Onslaught will bring to the masses include ‘Fog’, a small to medium sized affair which pays homage to classic horror films as players fight to unlock the maps dark secret. If a player happens to find and complete a specific Field Order, they become the embodiment of evil and don the persona of one of cinema’s most iconic horror characters, Michael Myers, whilst the entire soundscape changes to the eerily familiar Halloween Theme music so other players know to run for their lives.

Onslaught also brings us ‘BayView’. Set on a coastal Californian boardwalk this is a close quarters map offering players fast-paced run-and-gun matches. Players must also be wary of the deadly artillery strike enemies can call-in from a Naval Destroyer anchored just offshore.

Map number 3 transports players into a war-torn Mexican village, where the battle rages along both banks of the dried out riverbed. ‘Containment’ is a compact map which centres on the remains of a small bridge whilst featuring elevated vantage points for players who prefer longer-range engagements.

And finally ‘Ignition’ lets players visit an aging Florida space launch facility. Inspired by “Scrapyard” – the fan-favourite multiplayer map from Modern Warfare 2. Packing plenty of action both above and below ground amongst abandoned warehouses, flame trenches and a massive transport crawler, the close-quarters fighting features two separate rocket test engines sites that opposing forces can trigger, sending massive fireballs across the map.

But the real excitement (at least in these quarters), falls squarely at the feet of the first instalment of Extinction’s four-part episodic narrative, ‘Episode 1: Nightfall’. Featuring two new characters and two all-new alien species this is a fast and frenetic, action-packed continuation of the original Extinction experience in Call of Duty: Ghosts.

Have you read this?
Binge on all six episodes of FMV Dark Nights with Poe and Munro right now on Xbox and PlayStation

Have a sneeky preview in the trailer below.


  1. […] see it’s first big piece of DLC released on 28th Jan, will that be the day you get CODnapped? We’ve previously covered ‘Onslaught’ in great depth but now have a trailer that will get you even more excited. The CODnapper is here and he’s […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

five + 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.