Home TheXboxHub News... Nintendo News Double the Retro Fun in NAMCO Museum Archives Vol 1 and 2

Double the Retro Fun in NAMCO Museum Archives Vol 1 and 2


They don’t make them like they used to”, said many an adult when watching their offspring earn Victory Royales in Fortnite or earning killstreaks in Call of Duty. Well parents, it’s time to show them what they’ve been missing out on as the NAMCO Museum Archives hit Xbox One, PS4, Nintendo Switch and PC.

Today sees the release of NAMCO Museum Archives across two collections, appropriately titled Volume 1 and Volume 2.

Volume 1 contains:

  • • Galaxian
  • • Xevious
  • • Mappy
  • • Dragon Buster
  • Pac-Man
  • Dig-Dug
  • • The Tower of Druaga
  • • Sky Kid
  • • Dragon Spirit: The New Legend
  • • Splatterhouse: Wanpaku Graffiti
  • • Pac-Man Championship Edition – A new and exclusive game!

Whereas Volume 2 contains:

  • • Battle City
  • • Pac-Land
  • • Dig Dug II
  • • Super Xevious
  • Galaga
  • • Rolling Thunder
  • • Mappy-Land
  • • Legacy of the Wizard
  • • Dragon Buster II
  • • Mendel Palace
  • • Gaplus – This volumes exclusive game!

Many of these need no introduction with the likes of Pac-Man, Dig Dug and Galaga all part of the Arcade Game Series already on the Xbox One. Other classics like Xevious and Mappy are making debuts on the console, whilst games like Splatterhouse: Wanpaku Graffiti and Dragon Buster 2 haven’t seen the light of day for many, many years.

And if that wasn’t enough for all you retro gamers out there, Dragon Spirit: The New Legend and Mappy-Land are being released in the West for the very first time.

As with other retro collections, there are a couple of new gameplay features that are now par for the course. A rewind feature is of course available to make those older, harder games that little bit easier, and there is also a save anywhere feature to save precious virtual quarters.

And whilst the same look and sound of each game is recreated, there is wide-screen support in place too. For a quick look at these games in action, check out the trailer below:

Both collections are available to download from the Xbox Store now priced at £15.99, with physical releases arriving shortly afterwards on 10th July from selected retailers. But which volume do you pick first? We can offer some help, in the form of a couple of reviews coming your way very soon. For now, argue amongst yourselves in the comment section about which volume has the better games listed.


Take a trip down memory lane and relive the magical times of the 8-Bit era with a collection of Namco’s hits and long-lost treasures in Namco Museum Archives Volume 1 and 2. Equipped with convenient modern functions! Convenient features such as the “save function” that allows you to interrupt the game at any time and the “replay function” that allows you to start over at the last minute.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x