Around the turn of the millennium, classic Dungeons and Dragons adventures were appearing in the video gaming scene, bringing magic, wonder, and danger at every turn. Now though Beamdog and Skybound Games are bringing those moments of magic back, with the release of numerous Enhanced Editions of classic games – Baldur’s Gate I, Baldur’s Gate II, Planescape and Icewind Dale on Xbox One, PS4 and Nintendo Switch.

Available to purchase and download right now, these D&D classics are now available on the modern day gaming system, with a launch on Xbox One, PS4 and Nintendo Switch all taking place.

Priced up at £41.74 each – that’s one price for the Baldur’s Gate I & II option, and then another hefty asking price for the Planescape/Icewind Dale option – it has to be said that you’ll struggle to find any non-D&D fan bothering to take in what it is place. But woah, should you be a fan, you’ll be in your element, with classic gaming opportunities thrust your way.

Our full review of The Baldur’s Gate Enhanced Edition Pack on Xbox One is already live, and we’ll have some cracking thoughts surrounding the Planescape/Icewind Dale purchase coming soon too, but basically put, if you liked what was created all those years ago, and wish to continue on your quests across many more years, you’ll want to get downloads moving.

And if you aren’t taken in by any of these latest entries, you may instead be interested to hear that Neverwinter Nights Enhanced Edition will be following soon – keep an eye out for it in December.

Have you read this?
Codemasters and EA join forces to create new global powerhouse for racing games

For now though, get over to the Xbox Store, the PlayStation Store, or the Nintendo eShop and grab an Enhanced Edition of your favourite D&D experience. Using the links below will ensure you are taking to a magical world in which your imagination is the only limit.

planescape ice wind

Baldur’s Gate and Baldur’s Gate II: Enhanced Editions:

Forced to leave your home under mysterious circumstances, you find yourself drawn into a conflict that has the Sword Coast on the brink of war. Soon you discover there are other forces at work, far more sinister than you could ever imagine. Can you resist the evil in your blood and forsake the dark destiny that awaits you? Or will you embrace your monstrous nature and ascend to godhood? Customize your hero, recruit a party of brave allies, and explore the Sword Coast in your search for adventure, profit, and your destiny. Since the release of the first Baldur’s Gate in 1998, the series has set the standard for Dungeons & Dragons computer roleplaying games. “Baldur’s Gate and Baldur’s Gate II: Enhanced Editions” contains the entirety of Baldur’s Gate (including the Tales of the Sword Coast and Siege of Dragonspear expansions) and Baldur’s Gate II (including the Throne of Bhaal expansion).

Planescape: Torment and Icewind Dale: Enhanced Editions:

Journey deep into Icewind Dale, a harsh and unforgiving territory settled only by the hardiest folk. Battle the cunning, ferocious beasts that survive among the snow-shrouded peaks, and confront an evil that schemes to wreak destruction upon the world. Then, explore the bizarre universe of Planescape, from the dirty streets of Sigil to the mysterious Outer Planes–and even the depths of Hell itself. This is a place where the word is mightier than the sword, where thought defines reality, and belief has the power to reshape worlds. Icewind Dale and Planescape: Torment are award-winning classics of the isometric RPG genre. Planescape: Torment and Icewind Dale: Enhanced Editions contain the entirety of Icewind Dale (including the Heart of Winter and Trials of the Luremaster expansions) and Planescape: Torment.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

four + = 12

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.