Metal_Hellsinger key art

Shortly after being featured at The Game Awards in Los Angeles, Funcom and The Outsiders released a brand-new gameplay video displaying the new look for upcoming rhythm shooter Metal: Hellsinger. It’s well worth checking out. 

Heavy metal star Matt Heafy from Trivium had the honor of presenting the distinguished lineup of metal musicians featuring in the upcoming rhythm FPS Metal: Hellsinger at The Game Awards.

“I’m stoked to announce that I’m in Metal: Hellsinger, a rhythm-based shooter game. Make sure you check it out. We also have incredible screamer-singers like Alissa (White-Gluz) from Arch Enemy and Randy (Blythe) from Lamb of God,” said Matt Heafy.

The complete lineup of artists for the game is now revealed to be:

  • Randy Blythe from Lamb of God
  • James Dorton from Black Crown Initiate
  • Matt Heafy from Trivium
  • Dennis Lyxzén from Refused and INVSN
  • Tatiana Shmailyuk from Jinjer 
  • Mikael Stanne from Dark Tranquillity
  • Björn Strid from Soilwork
  • Alissa White-Gluz from Arch Enemy

All the vocalists have recorded headbanging tracks written by Swedish composer duo Elvira Björkman and Nicklas Hjertberg. Featured at The Game Awards is the song Acheron, performed by the metal icon Randy Blythe, lead singer in Lamb of God. As with every track in Metal: Hellsinger, Acheron is divided into multiple layers, and your ability to slay to the beat of the song determines how many layers will be played at a time. 

In addition to participating at The Game Awards, the developers released a second video, consisting of 3 ½ minutes of unedited gameplay. The video is intended to give gamers a better impression of what the actual experience of playing a rhythm shooter is going to be like, as well as display the visual improvements that have been implemented since the game was announced more than a year ago.

“As this is such a new genre for most people, it’s hard to properly envision the experience from just a 1-minute trailer,” explains Executive Producer Shila Vikström. “We therefore had one of the best players in our team record a playthrough, and the result really gets the adrenaline flowing,” she says.

Metal: Hellsinger will release in 2022 on PC, PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Will you be keeping an eye out for it?

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments