Tauronos xbox release

Imagine being trapped within an ancient labyrinth, surrounded by dangers and darkness, while hounded by a mythical creature. Could you reach the centre in one piece? You’ll find out in pixel world of TAURONOS, which is now available on Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One.

Inspired by the fascinating Greek myth of Theseus venturing into a labyrinth for a fight with the Minotaur – a terrifying half-man, half-bull – TAURONOS throws you into a maze and challenges you to defeat this seemingly immortal beast. Through exploring the paths within the labyrinth, one hopes to discover the means to do so; with tools, rewards and plenty of secrets waiting to be found. Don’t dawdle though, for the mythical monster edges ever-closer to your location as time goes by.

TAURONOS presents six different chapters and each poses its own unique challenges, layout patterns, and rewards. With 42 stages contained within, you’re going to be in for a tough old journey as all sorts of hazards, like boulders and deadly traps, are looking to halt your progress. Acquiring the five skill upgrades might do wonders for you however, ensuring you’ve got the best chance of overcoming the retro, and rather dark, experience here. And, despite what you may think, the developers at 16 Bit Nights and Cavalie.ro have made it clear that you’re not to expect TAURONOS to be a rogue-like dungeon crawler, but instead an adventure of self-discovery.

Whether you can match the efforts of Theseus, who claimed victory against all odds, remains to be seen. Before deciding about a purchase, we’d recommend a read of our in-depth review of TAURONOS. Should you then fancy giving it a go though, TAURONOS awaits your arrival over on the Xbox Store, where it’s priced rather cheaply at £5.79. Feel free to reach out to us via the comments section below and share your thoughts on it!

Game Description:

Trapped inside an ancient labyrinth, chased by the mythical Minotaur. Will you reach the center? And if so, what will you discover about yourself there, in the dark? There is but one enemy… But it is the unbeatable Minotaur. Only by exploring the maze of the Labyrinth can you hope to discover how to defeat this immortal monster. The great maze has many tools, many rewards, and many secrets just waiting for you to find them. But you can’t waste your precious time, for the Minotaur is getting ever closer. Dark Flavour The game is inspired by the Greek myth of the labyrinth and the fight between Theseus and the Minotaur. The dark theme is visually expressed by retro pixel art, enriched by voice acting and metaphorical storytelling, creating (we hope) a thrilling atmosphere. The Labyrinth The journey has 6 chapters – each with its own specific challenges, patterns, and rewards. A total of 42 stages, 5 skill upgrades – each with 3 levels, 3 hidden upgrades, 2 unique upgrades, secret passages and Easter eggs. Fair Warning This game is not a rogue-like dungeon crawler, but rather an experience which will ultimately give you the answer to the question: dare you know yourself? Of course, you can simply see it as a guilty pleasure arcade game, just take note: permadeath is unforgiving.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments