Supermassive Games have been carving out a name for themselves on PlayStation 4, releasing story-driven narrative horror games such as Until Dawn and The Inpatient. Not afraid to try new things, today sees them announce The Dark Pictures, a new horror anthology created in conjunction with Bandai Namco. They’ve even announced the name of the first game in the series, Man of Medan.

In Man of Medan, four young Americans head out on a driving trip to look for a rumoured WWII wreckage. Things naturally don’t go to plan; a storm rolls in and things quickly take a turn for the worse. Featuring Supermassive Games signature branching storylines, who lives and dies is up to you.

There will be five characters to play as in total: the four young Americans and also the captain of the boat. You will face tough decisions and must face the consequences head-on. Man of Medan is designed to be replayable; sometimes characters will die, another time they will live depending on your choices, and the game will feature multiple endings.

“We are incredibly excited to announce the Dark Pictures Anthology and the first game in the series – Man of Medan. With each title being a standalone game, we have the opportunity to create a unique horror experience every time, with new stories, settings, characters and cast. As a studio we have a passion to deliver powerful cinematic horror, and we can’t wait for players to experience these new games across PS4, XBOX and PC. We have a great partner in Bandai Namco Entertainment and we look forward to working with them to help bring these terrifying tales to gamers everywhere”, said Pete Samuels -CEO Supermassive Games and Executive Producer of The Dark Pictures.

“We’ve been working with the amazing team at Supermassive Games to bring this vision together and we hope that fans are as excited to see the game for the first time at Gamescom – as we’ve been creating it”, said Hervé Hoerdt – VP Digital and Marketing BANDAI NAMCO Entertainment Europe. “As well as creating entertaining experience, we want to be innovative as a company. The Dark Pictures, is the first example of a horror anthology series within the video game world, which positions gaming to a style closer to their favourite TV shows with new, standalone experiences brought to fans on a regular basis. It’s a bold new model, but one we believe fans of both gaming and horror will love.”

The first game in the anthology, Man of Medan, is set to launch on Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC in 2019, with subsequent releases following on a regular basis. If these are anything like Until Dawn, Xbox owners are going to be in for a scare/treat (delete as applicable)!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments