the secret order xbox

You may not be aware that there are eight (go on, count ‘em) Secret Order games, with this – The Secret Order: Return to the Buried Kingdom – the eighth, launching on Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and Switch today.

It’s a bit of a tricksy fact, as it’s only the second in the series that has launched on the above systems, with The Secret Order: Shadow Breach having dropped in March of 2020. The full Secret Order saga is currently only available on PC.

We’re reliably informed that you won’t need to be savvy about the other games in the series though, as Return to the Buried Kingdom is very much standalone. Sure, some core characters will return, but the central mystery will be intact.

This is the latest release from the unbelievably prolific Artifex Mundi, who have an effective monopoly over hidden object games (of which this is one). I’ll admit their games are a guilty pleasure, and this doesn’t look like it will be any different. As is customary in their games, you are a plucky heroine travelling to exotic shores to solve a mystery: in this case, some dragons are behaving uncontrollably and it looks like a necromancer may be behind it.

Features include:

  • Discover 33 captivating hand-painted locations!
  • Meet friends and foes from previous parts!
  • Test yourself in challenging hidden-object scenes!
  • Try your hand at over 30 witty puzzles!
  • Bonus Chapter filled with additional content!

While this is the eighth in the series, it will also be its last, so skip to the end and see how the story unfolds. As a new convert to hidden object games – see my article here – I’m going to be there with various bells, whistles and other hidden objects on.

The Secret Order: Return to the Buried Kingdom launches today for £12.49 on Xbox One, and also on Switch and PlayStation 4. Further to that, you’ll find Return to the Buried Kingdom available in the latest Artifex Mundi bundle too. Running a £29.99 price tag, the Bestiary Bundle includes three games: this, Persian Nights: Sands of Wonders and Eventide 3: Legacy of Legends. Consider it if you’ve not played any of those. 

Game Description:

The Buried Kingdom in on the verge of collapse. Maintaining the balance between peace and chaos has become almost impossible, as the dragons start to behave unpredictably. Who is behind all the magic anomalies? Sarah Pennington returns for another thrilling adventure in the final part of the saga! Explore beautiful locations, encounter unique beasts, solve riddles, reach the finale of this epic quest, and discover the power of friendship! Veterans of the HOPA genre, Sunward Games and Artifex Mundi (creators of the memorable Enigmatis and Grim Legends), proudly present the eighth part of the Secret Order fantasy saga. Embark on a journey to the hidden world of dragons and other fantastic creatures and try to lift the curse. Play as a strong female character and deal with everything this immersive adventure game has to offer. Unforgettable hidden-objects scenes, challenging puzzles, and – last but not least – the evil Necromancer and his army of skeletons! Get ready for the mesmerizing story of an adventure game you won’t forget. Save the Buried Kingdom!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments