HomeTheXboxHub News...Nintendo NewsIs Athenian Rhapsody the craziest game ever?

Is Athenian Rhapsody the craziest game ever?

-

Athenian Rhapsody keyart
Athenian Rhapsody is on Xbox, PC, console and mobile

Tongue-in-cheek storytelling. Rambunctious mini-games. Excruciating challenges. The delights of living with allergies. Is Athenian Rhapsody the craziest game ever made? Well, it’s time to find out…

Utter madness awaits

Available today on Xbox, PlayStation, Nintendo Switch, PC, Android and the Apple App Store is Athenian Rhapsody. A comedy RPG created by the solo dev, Nico Papalia, this is about as mad as you can get in the world of gaming. 

It places you in Athens, a colourful world that is full of madness, as you look to make friends, to partake in some mini-games, to take on the toughest of challenges and to – ultimately – write your own rhapsody. It does so by providing everything you would ever expect, plus a whole ton more, with no two playthroughs likely to run the same path. 

Key features

  • Explore the colorful world of Athens, and hop from town-to-circus-to-UFO-piloted-by-cats-in-the-sky as you write your Rhapsody
  • Answer a deep, meaningful personality test that reveals your deepest, darkest desires (such as wanting to be a bus driver)
  • Party members galore! 16 potential companions await, each with a bold personality and some being a little bit more unhinged than others
  • Tons of enemies for you to FIGHT or BEFRIEND! This world has no shortage of intense battles with opponents that range from weird, wacky, tough, cute, and outright goofy!
  • Figure out why everyone’s crazy for hoarding EXP (hopefully it doesn’t have any side effects) and engage in tough Souls-like dating mechanics(?)
  • Minigames that’ll challenge your limits, like having to spell your own name, dodging space invaders, copying the circus mimes, and paying your taxes
  • A branching narrative with different endings depending on your choices, friendships, and other stuff that just happens in life

Get involved in the craziest of gaming worlds

You will find Athenian Rhapsody present on the Xbox Store today, playable on Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S. It’s fully optimised for Series consoles and our review is incoming very soon. 

Alternatively, the game is also on PlayStation, PC (through Steam), Nintendo Switch or mobile. 

Expect releases at 11am EST / 8am PST / 5pm CEST on PC, and 12pm EST / 9am PST / 6pm CEST on consoles and mobile. You’ll need to pay around £13/£14. 

You’ll need to watch the trailer to really understand what this one is all about – and even then, you may not… 

Athenian Rhapsody Description

ARE YOU READY FOR THE CRAZIEST GAME EVER? CAN THE DEVELOPER OF THE GAME DO A BACKFLIP??? No, he can’t. Maybe one day, but for now he’s too scared! …anyway, Athenian Rhapsody is a super-fresh, one-of-a-kind comedy RPG in which you’ll explore the World of Athens! Your goal is to build your very own Rhapsody – the story of you (the player) and your epic tale in this world. You’ll be faced with many challenges, and you’ll have to fight (or hug) your way through the world by either battling, or awkwardly trying to make friends with your opponents through esoteric knowledge, abstract jokes, memory games, and other strange and funny interactions.

Neil Watton
Neil Wattonhttps://www.thexboxhub.com/
An Xbox gamer since 2002, I bought the big black box just to play Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee. I have since loved every second of the 360's life and am now just as obsessed with the Xbox One and Xbox Series X|S - mostly with the brilliant indie scene that has come to the fore. Gamertag is neil363, feel free to add me to your list.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Follow Us On Socials

24,000FansLike
1,671FollowersFollow
4,922FollowersFollow
6,670SubscribersSubscribe

Our current writing team

2806 POSTS23 COMMENTS
1528 POSTS2 COMMENTS
1275 POSTS18 COMMENTS
1028 POSTS46 COMMENTS
856 POSTS0 COMMENTS
398 POSTS2 COMMENTS
116 POSTS0 COMMENTS
82 POSTS0 COMMENTS
78 POSTS4 COMMENTS
24 POSTS0 COMMENTS
12 POSTS10 COMMENTS
8 POSTS0 COMMENTS

Join the chat

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x