For many the draw of Life is Strange: Before the Storm will revolve around its musical score, and today Square Enix have confirmed that you’ll be able to get hold of all the tracks from the game pretty soon.

In fact, come September 1st 2017, ‘Music From Before The Storm’ will be released via Glassnote Records/4AD as Square team up with indie folk band Daughters. The game features all the tracks on Music from Before the Storm as well as additional licensed tracks including two classic ones taken from Daughters’ back catalogue.

That is the day after the first of three episodes release on Xbox One, PS4 and PC, as the Life is Strange series continues.

“Life is Strange is a game that evokes a lot of emotion in people and, alongside great storytelling and characterisation, it’s music that plays a huge role in this”, said Jon Brooke Vice President for Brand Marketing, Square Enix London Studios. “It was really important for us to find a great collaboration for original music alongside our licensed tracks to capture the raw emotion of our game and Daughter fit that bill perfectly. Once we’d heard all the tracks for the game we really wanted the album to have a full release so our fans could enjoy them over and over. We’re really thankful and excited to be on the brink of a Life is Strange Daughter album release, we hope everyone enjoys the tracks as much as we expect.”

“We are so proud to have written the soundtrack for “Life Is Strange: Before the Storm”, said Elena Tonra, Daughter Lead Singer. “It was our first experience working on an original soundtrack, and are so honoured to have been given the opportunity to work with the team. We loved the story on first read as it centres around realistic female lead characters who are emotional, intelligent, sensitive and badass in equal measure. I think the characters themselves have really inspired the soundscapes we have created. It was a pleasure to be involved.”

“We wanted to have fun with this project so we made something we felt could be a soundtrack for the characters in the game themselves”, said Igor Haefeli, founding band member. It was also important for us to make sure this collection of songs and pieces of music stood on their own so we really went that extra mile. We hope players and non-players alike will equally enjoy it.”

The original score will include the following from Daughter’s Music From Before The Storm…

1. Glass
2. Burn It Down
3. Flaws
4. Hope
5. The Right Way Around
6. Witches
7. Departure
8. All I Wanted
9. I Can’t Live Here Anymore
10. Dreams Of William
11. Improve
12. Voices
13. A Hole In The Earth

You can listen to the first track “Burn It Down” here:, whilst those who wish to a pre-order Music from Before the Storm can also do so…

Life is Strange: Before the Storm is set once more in Arcadia Bay, this time three years before the events of the first game. You will get to take charge of rebellious 16 year-old Chloe Price who forms an unlikely friendship with Rachel Amber; a beautiful and popular girl destined for success. When Rachel’s world is turned upside down by a family secret, it takes this new-found alliance to give each other the strength to overcome their demons.

We will of course be sure to remind you when the time comes to get your game download in.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments