marvels avengers xbox

The second Marvel’s Avengers WAR TABLE stream has now taken place and in it we discovered Square Enix detailing a whole ton of new details about the game – most notably details on Hawkeye’s story arc, a lovely Fortnite promotion and the upcoming Beta.

Those who watched the latest Marvel’s Avengers WAR TABLE stream via the channel would have been among the first to be witness to the most juicy of details, as Square Enix dropped promises in regards the array of content that will be available in the upcoming beta. This will see gamers given access to several single-player missions, as well as a large selection of additional missions that can be played solo with your AI Avengers team, or through co-op with up to four players.

In one mission you will get the chance to take on the role of young Super Hero Kamala Khan and team up with Hulk as they infiltrate an AIM base in the forests of the American Pacific Northwest, hot on the trail of the last known location of JARVIS. Later they take the Quinjet to a remote War Zone in the frozen Russian tundra to uncover SHIELD secrets hidden in a deep underground bunker.

The Marvel’s Avengers beta will ensure that gamers on Xbox One, PS4 and PC will get a comprehensive hands-on experience of the game ahead of its worldwide launch on September 4th, with the Beta dates working as follows:

  • The Marvel’s Avengers beta program begins on August 7 exclusively for PlayStation 4 owners who have pre-ordered the game and will be available until August 9. On August 14, the beta will be available for all PlayStation 4 owners and run through August 16.
  • For those who pre-ordered Marvel’s Avengers on Xbox One and PC, the beta will begin on August 14 and will run through August 16.
  • Finally, on August 21, the beta program will be open to all PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC players and run through August 23.

“We really want to give fans an in-depth look at what they can expect when they get their hands on the beta starting on August 7th,” said Scot Amos, Co-Head of Crystal Dynamics. “I couldn’t be more proud of the work the team has done getting Marvel’s Avengers ready for players, and can’t wait to see their reactions.”

But that’s not all, and also during the stream, it was revealed that should Xbox One and PS4 players link their Square Enix Members and Epic Games accounts together, and find themselves able to complete the beta’s three HARM-room challenges, will earn the Hulk Smashers Pickaxe with bonus Hulkbuster style in Epic Games’ blockbusting Fortnite.

There’s more though and this latest WAR TABLE also gave a sneak peek at one of the first heroes that will be added to the game after launch; added at no additional cost in fact. Clint Barton’s Hawkeye will have a completely original story-arc inspired by some of his best-known moments in the comics, as players wield Hawkeye’s iconic high-tech bow and trick arrows in missions either solo or co-op online with friends. Hawkeye’s story will continue to move the entire Marvel’s Avengers narrative world forward, and all new missions are accessible with the entire roster of playable heroes.

Additional information about this and any other additional post-launch content, including the new villain and other content debuting with Hawkeye’s story, will be available in the weeks ahead.

It has to be said that Marvel’s Avengers is an ambitious game, yet it is one that will look to expand going forward with a deeper narrative, new post-release Super Heroes, regions and story arcs delivered to players at no additional cost once they own the core game. It’ll be launching on Xbox One, PS4, PC and Google Stadia on September 4th 2020, with Xbox Series X and PS5 versions coming in Holiday 2020 – and yes, free upgrades and cross-gen saves to the next-gen will be in place.

But will you be playing it? Let us know in the comments.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments